Chiyangwa appoints himself chairman of referees association


Harare – Controversial Zimbabwe Football Association (ZIFA) president Phillip Chiyangwa has appointed himself at the helm of the ZIFA referees committee, despite not having any recognized certificate in football referring.

In a statement released by the football association ZIFA on Wednesday, the association’s president announced that he now the new boss of the referees committee which is responsible for the selection of referees for matches.

“The Zimbabwe Football Association has confirmed appointment of the listed individuals within their respective standing committees, Referees Committee, Dr Phillip Chiyangwa-Chairperson

Mr Gladmore Muzambi – Vice Chairperson,” said the association

Other committees are led by the association’s Vice President a move which has been met with mixed feelings.

Commenting on this issue prominent journalist Nkosana Dlamini said the appointed vindicated Chiyangwa’s critics that he was indeed a glory seeker than a leader.

“ This is football incent. Where does it happen that the person who is supposed to oversee the running of the country’s mother body can still be, let alone appoint himself leader of a committee,. It vindicates those who have always said that Chiyangwa is a glory seeker a diabolical one at that,” said Dlamini.

Chiyangwa who is also a politician and business person has in the past been criticized by many and some have doubted his capabilities to lead football.

Though he has managed to bring in convicted fraudster Wicknell Chivhayo to sponsor the association problems of funding challenges.

Recently the Mighty warriors only received $5 after their participation at the Olympics, Chiyangwa promised them stands something which is yet to materialize.

He has been appealing to soccer lovers to donate for the cause of football through ecocash since his term in office has failed to bring any fruits for Zimbabwean football.

Chiyangwa has been know for controversial  statements and has at one point said that he was concerned with the state of affairs at Dynamos when he appealed for the club to fire its then coach Paulo Jorge Silva.



Below is the list of the referees committee members



The Zimbabwe Football Association has confirmed appointment of the listed individuals within their respective standing committees.

a) Technical Development Committee

Mr Omega Sibanda Chairperson

Mr Gibson Homela – Vice Chairperson

Mr Wisdom Simba

Mr Tumediso Ndlovu

Mr Nelson Matongorere

Mr Bheki Nyoni

Ms Rosemary Mugadza

The Technical Director

  1. b) Finance Committee

Mr Philemon Machana – Chairperson

Mr Brighton Malandule

Mr Kuziwa Nyabeza

Mr Lifa Ncube

Mr Gilbert Saika

  1. c) Competitions Committee

Mr Piraishe Mabhena – Chairperson

Mr Gaylord Madhunguza – Vice Chairperson

Dr. Thomas Marambanyika

Mr Sweeney Mushonga

Mr Farai Rutsvara

  1. d) Human Resources Committee

Mr Omega Sibanda – Chairperson

Mr Martin Kweza – Vice Chairperson

Mr Judah Tshuma

Mr Patrick Hill

Mr Lovemore Matikinyidze

  1. e) High Performance Committee

Mr Omega Sibanda – Chairperson

Mr Sunday Chidzambwa – Vice Chairperson

Mr Innocent Chogugudza

Mr Rahman Gumbo

Mr Moses Chunga

Mr Masimba Chihowa

The Technical Director

  1. f) Referees Committee

Dr Phillip Chiyangwa-Chairperson

Mr Gladmore Muzambi – Vice Chairperson

Mr Kainos Mavhuna

Mr Japhet Mufiri

Mr Thabani Mkanjo

Ms Musa Ntonga


  1. g) Marketing & Public Relations Committee

Mrs Beaula Msarah – Chairperson

Mr Chamu Chiwanza – Vice Chairperson

Mr Martin Kweza

Mrs Barbra Chikosi

Mr Brightwell Kadenge

  1. h) Futsal and Beach Soccer Committee

Mr Felton Kamambo – Chairperson

  1. i) Adhoc Disciplinary Committee

Mr Omega Sibanda – Chairperson

Mr Matipano – Vice Chairperson

Mr Musa Mandaza

Mr Davison Muchena

Mr Willard Manyengavana

Mr Stanley Chapeta

  1. j)Disciplinary Committee

Mr Victor Matipano – Chairperson

Ms Musa Ntonga – Vice Chairperson


  1. k) Electoral Committee

Justice Nhari – Chairperson

Mr Tichafa Hove


  1. l)Sports Medicine Committee

Dr Edward Chagonda – Chairperson


  1. m) Judiciary Bodies

      i)Constitutional Review Committee

Mr Itayi Ndudzo – Chairperson


  1.     ii) Appeals Committee

Justice Tawanda Chitapi – Chairperson


      iii) Ethics Committee

Justice Francis Bere – Chairperson


  1. n) Interim Women Football Committee

Mrs Elizabeth Langa – Chairperson

Ms Cecilia Gambe – Vice Chairperson

Ms Musa Ntonga

Mrs Beaula Msarah

Mrs Rosemary Muzvidziwa