Top Ranked Skaters from Over 40 Countries to Compete in Skateboarding’s

Biggest Event Oct. 7-10 at Kimberley Diamond Cup

(Sacramento, Calif. –October 4, 2015) World Skateboarding Grand Prix – the official street skateboarding world championship as recognized by the World Skateboarding Federation – announced today that Chenai Gwandure will represent Zimbabwe in the Skateboarding World Championships at the Kimberley Diamond Cup (KDC) Oct. 7-10 in Kimberley, South Africa.

Presented by Kumba Iron Ore, the Skateboarding World Championships draw the best skateboarders from around the world to compete for their share of a $500,000 US prize, the largest single event prize purse in skateboarding, and the title of world champion. Last year, 37 countries were represented in the championships, and this year WSGP is on track to reach 50 countries and 250 skaters competing in women’s street, men’s street and vert disciplines.

The Skateboarding World Championships at the Kimberley Diamond Cup will be broadcast live in South Africa on SuperSport and distributed globally in 173 countries reaching 700 million homes worldwide. Watch the LIVE webcast of Kimberley Diamond Cup at www.KimberleyDiamondCup.com.

2015 Skateboarding World Championships Events Schedule

Wednesday, October 7

African Continental Championships – women’s street (3pm SAST*) and men’s vert (4pm SAST)

Thursday, October 8

African Continental Championships – Rider Cup team qualifiers (1pm SAST*)

Women’s Street Skateboarding World Championships (6:30pm SAST*/9:30am PDT/12:30pm EDT)

Friday, October 9

African Continental Championships – Rider Cup team finals (4:30pm SAST*)

Street Skateboarding World Championships – open qualifier (1pm SAST*)

Vert World Championships (7-8:30pm SAST*/10-11:30am PDT/1-2:30pm EDT)  LIVE WEBCAST

Saturday, October 10

African Continental Championships Am Street and Top Grom (12-2pm SAST*)

Street World Championships – finals (7-9pm SAST*/10am-12pm PDT/1-3pm EDT)  LIVE WEBCAST

*SAST is South Africa Standard Time. It is 9 hours ahead of Pacific Daylight Time and 6 hours ahead of Eastern Daylight Time.

For the latest news and information on the KDC follow us on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.  For other upcoming World Skateboarding Grand Prix events and information, visit WorldSkateboarding.com.

About Kimberley Diamond Cup

The World Skateboarding Championships at the Kimberley Diamond Cup is a partnership between South Africa’s  Northern Cape Provincial Government, World Skateboarding Grand Prix and Kumba Iron Ore. Located 300 miles southwest of Johannesburg in the Northern Cape Province, Kimberley was the location of South Africa’s first diamond mine, thus its nickname, “The Diamond City.” For the latest news and information go to www.kimberleydiamondcup.com or follow KDC on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

About World Skateboarding Grand Prix (WSGP)

World Skateboarding Grand Prix is an international skateboarding event management company. WSGP hosts world-class skateboarding events with a commitment to help stimulate local economies through tourism while supporting youth development, especially those in underserved or impoverished communities. For the latest news and information on the 2015 Skateboarding World Championships at the Kimberley Diamond Cup and other upcoming World Skateboarding Grand Prix events, visit www.WorldSkateboarding.com.

###

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here